>Get off your Soap box!

>

After reading Scary Mommy’s blog this morning, I felt prompted to write about this….. But first I wanted to say that she is a true inspiration and by no means does this guest post on her blog effect how I see her as a person.

I have so many thoughts on that post, but I will start with the fact that she was upset that her child’s teacher was gay. (I have NO clue how she knows the teacher is gay or if she just assumed it).

I am a FIRM supporter of gay rights. Not only that but because she is upset by something that the teacher control anymore than the teachers race. Each of my children has a Christian teacher, and its would be as silly as me to say because I don’t agree with their religion that I wouldn’t want them as my child’s teacher. Thats flat out idiotic! None of that factors in to how they can teach. I feel if you dont care for the teacher HOME SCHOOL your child, but please don’t but your negative vibes reach your children.
To call her self a “conservative christian” is very incorrect- I would call her a “narrow-minded person” religion is no reason to HATE. Which is exactly what she is teaching. To even bring up her child’s teacher’s sexual orientation is irrelevant to her post about her religion and how she raises her children.

I think in all I disagree with her morals almost 100%, for multiple reason- but thats another day and another rant (that is unless I don’t care for her response in which case I shall blog more)
– If you disagree with what I say please feel free to speak up- I always like reading other peoples opinions even if I don’t agree- but PLEASE keep HATE off my blog as I WILL delete hateful comments! –
12 thoughts on “>Get off your Soap box!

  1. >I didn't read that post but sounds pretty upsetting. My daughter is in Grade 6. Her subsititue Teacher yesterday was a gay man. I know this because I met his partner when they were out for dinner at our restaurant. I have NO problem with this. He is a great teacher and isn't that all that really matters? The rest of it is none of our business.

  2. >Two of my favorite high school teachers were/are gay. I met one's partner by accident – she came to visit her on her lunch break and I was grading papers for her. They had been together for 15 years! They truly loved each other. I believe that love is love is love, no matter how you swing it, and there's no steadfast rule about who you can and can not fall in love with.My best friend is gay. If something happens to my husband and I, our children will go to her. NOT our family. NOT any of our hetero, married friends. HER. Because we know that she would raise our babies the way we want them to be raised – without prejudice.America has got to be the most intolerant place in the world.

  3. >For starters, with the set of information she has, she's probably right to question the education for her children, out of genuine concern. I've learned that many people are just regular people who have been taught certain absolute things, and without a close-to-home situation such as a gay teacher for their kids, they will never have to question that for themselves. This could be the kick-in-the-pants she needs to force her to take a new look at things. As strong-willed as she seems now, the true test is where the journey takes her.Both sides need to talk to each other. Parents need to get to know the teachers to whom they entrust the care and education of their children. At the same time, educators should know what concerns parents have, so they can work toward bringing children and parents along a journey to enlightenment. One can't change their entire value system overnight, but needs time to reach an understanding that only comes from hard conversations and plenty of time.The good part of it is, when kids are presented with differing sets of information, they're pretty good at discerning logic. Most parents are also pretty good at learning from their kids. If the kids accept the teacher, she's much more likely to follow suit.The real truth is that gay/bi/queer/trans people, and allies alike, HAVE GOT to start telling their personal stories to their families and friends. For people who think they don't know any gay people, it's easy to paint with a broad stroke their ideas about "those people." When "those people" suddenly includes one's nephew, or one's best friend's brother, those personal connections get in the way of the broad stroke and force people to think about someone they know, rather than a group they oppose. It's time to stop hiding, and start telling.

  4. >Jayysenn I think your right – I think if people in general took the time to get to know other people regardless of what their orientation might be. Also if people would be more opened minded, the GBQT people would be more open with their families and friends. But from fear of rejection I would understand them not wanting to come out to people they love.(and for the record I LOVE how you write = ] )

  5. >What a long fucking day. Still torn as to whether I should have posted that or not, I can only hope that some good— something can be gained from a dialogue like that. Here's hoping.And, thank you for the support. XOXO

  6. >Jill, You will ALWAYS have my support. I know it took a ton for you to let that up on your blog- because I think it did affect a ton of people, rather or not they responded to the post. Oct 11th is national come out of the closet day, and I hope than may GBQT people will come out and feel ok doing so instead of hiding. I'm very glad that I was able to read all the opinions of others, especially others in the blog world that I respect. All in all. Thank you.

  7. >Wow, that post got like 500 comments!! I wish I had time to read them all because it sounds like it was very insightful. I did read the post and I totally disagree with her opinion. The bottom line for me is whether the person is an excellent teacher or not….NOT the issue of their sexual preference. I could see where it may get touchy if a teacher was discussing certain aspects of their personal life with children who are too young to understand it. My oldest kids are in 1st grade and I could see them being very confused if a teacher happened to mention something about being married to a same-sex partner. It's just not a topic I wish to discuss with them at this point and I could see them having a zillion questions about it. But in the event that it was brought up and I had to discuss it with them, I'd teach them that love is love, no matter what. You can't help who you fall in love with, in my opinion. My husband's opinion vastly differs, which makes the topic difficult to discuss anyway. He tolerates it but I think he'd flip if one of our kids came to us in the future and told us he/she was gay. Okay, I'll all over the place in this comment but the bottom line is that I agree with you. I admire Jill's courage to put that guest post up…not an easy decision on her part.

  8. >I flat out explained it to my children when my youngest was in first grade, and my boys were in 2nd. They were curious, but incredbly understanding. They need to be taught love and understanding. Without telling sexual details, you'd be surprized how caring children are… if we call could just teach love and compassion- the world would be a better place.And Im going to say it again… Jill I totally love you for putting that guest post up!!

  9. >Ugh. That pissed me off. (This is Jean BTW. I really like your blog.) There was a gentleman named Robert on there and I had to comment on what he said. His response was perfect.

Leave a Reply

